Creative Gaming Award

Creative Gaming Award Logo 2019

Creative Gaming Award 2019

The Creative Gaming Award is granted anually during the PLAY – Creative Gaming festival and honors the most creative and innovative games and media. There are two categories: while the Most Creative Game Award will be given to the most creative project, the Most Innovative Newcomer Award honors the best newcomer production. Indie game developers from all over Europe have the chance to submit their games and prototypes. The nominated media will be shown at the PLAY19 exhibition and winners will be chosen by an international jury . The winners will be announced at the awarding ceremony on 16 November 2019 in Hamburg.

For terms and conditions as well as information about submission and process, follow this link.

You can also download all information here.

Submissions are closed. Projects, games and playful media could be submitted from 1 June 2019 to 30 June 2019. Nominees will be announced in September.

Winners will be announced at the Creative Gaming Award Show on November 16.

The award focuses on creative games and playful media that give the player the possibility to interact creatively with and within the game. The innovation can be showcased by a special gameplay, transmediality, unknown possibilities of interaction within the game, essential graphic innovations, new interfaces, uncommon atmospheres, visual breakthroughs or interesting topics that the game deals with in a novel manner.

The Creative Gaming Award will be awarded in two categories:

Most Creative Game

This category is directed to experienced developers that have already published one or more games. The award is endowed with a prize money of 1.000 Euro. The nominated games will also be showcased in the PLAY exhibition, the developers are invited to Hamburg during the festival and can participate in the awarding ceremony, taking place on 16 November 2019. Beta versions and completed projects can be submitted.

Most Innovative Newcomer

This category is directed to newcomer developers who have NOT published a game yet. In this category, prototypes as well as alpha and beta versions and finished projects can be submitted. This award is endowed with a one-year mentoring. The nominated games also receive a place in the PLAY exhibition and participate in the festive awarding ceremony on 16 November 2019. During the festival, nominated developers are invited to Hamburg.

These are the previous winners: