The Creative Gaming Awards are granted annually during the PLAY – Creative Gaming Festival. Honoring video games, playful media, and media art, the Creative Gaming Awards are made up of two categories, which are determined by the developers’ experience. Indie game developers from all over Europe can submit their projects. Hardware games and media art are also strongly welcome!

Creativity can mean subverting established patterns, finding new perspectives, or simply challenging previous gameplay ideas and finding originality. We do not want to limit you in any way and welcome all forms of videos games - whether you like focusing on narrative games; whether you created a game that plays with the way we are used to control video games; whether you use video games to originate media art; whether you developed a game that you think is fun and want others to play. This list is most certainly not exhaustive.

Since 2007 the PLAY – Creative Gaming Festival unites media art, discourse, and education with digital gaming culture. Its primary focus is the creative application of digital games – inventing, building, tinkering, modifying, programming, dancing, discussing.

AWARD CATEGORIES

MOST CREATIVE GAME

The Most Creative Game Award will be given to the most creative project made by experienced indie developers, who have developed video games before. You can submit beta versions and finished projects in this category.

Winners will receive 1000,-€. In case PLAY20 takes place physically, winners will be invited to Hamburg to visit the festival.

MOST INNOVATIVE NEWCOMER

The Most Innovative Newcomer Award honors the most creative and inventive newcomer production. Newcomers include students and inexperienced indie developers, who have not published a video game before. You can submit prototypes, alpha and beta versions.

Winners will receive a one-year mentorship that aids them gain a foothold in the gaming industry. Additionally, they will be invited to Hamburg to visit PLAY20, if the festival takes place physically.

SUBMISSIONS

REQUIREMENTS
Fill out the complete form on our website
(The project will be submitted as a link in the form).
Please include instructions.
A short video showing gameplay (min. 5 minutes) and screenshots.

TECHNICAL REQUIREMENTS
- Windows 7 and above, Mac OS X 14 and above, Playstation 4, Xbox One, iOS / Android -
Installations and Hardware games are warmly welcome.
Please send a video and a short description. If you need further operating systems, please contact us (award[at]playfestival.de).


Submitting and participating is free of charge.
July 1st – 31st

WHAT'S NEXT?

After the deadline (July 31st, 2020) the PLAY – Creative Gaming Festival team will play and evaluate all submissions. We will announce and contact nominees mid September 2020 on both our website and Social Media channels.

Further information and the terms and conditions can be found on our website, please visit:

AWARDING CEREMONY

Two members of the nominated developer teams will be invited to the PLAY – Creative Gaming Festival (November 5-8, 2020). This includes festival tickets and travel expenses for the duration of the festival - only if the festival takes place physically! Moreover, the nominated games and media will be exhibited in the official PLAY20 exhibition.

The awarding ceremony will take place on
November 7th, 2020 at the PLAY – Creative Gaming festival (either online or offline).

AT A GLANCE

BEGIN July 1st, 2020

DEADLINE July 31st, 2020

AWARDING CEREMONY November 7th, 2020

CONTACT award[at]playfestival.de

PREVIOUS WINNERS

MOST CREATIVE GAME


MOST INNOVATIVE NEWCOMER

PLAY20 – Creative Gaming Festival is an event produced by the Initiative Creative Gaming e. V. and jaf – Verein für medienpädagogische Praxis Hamburg e. V. in cooperation with spielbar.de, the platform of the Federal Agency for Civic Education/bpb on the Subject of Computer Games, Behörde für Schule und Berufsbildung Hamburg and JIZ – Jugendinformationszentrum Hamburg (BSB).

Supported by the BürgerStiftung Hamburg and gamecity:Hamburg

In cooperation with the FUNDUS THEATER

Die Creative Gaming Awards werden jährlich im Rahmen des PLAY – Creative Gaming Festivals an kreative Spiele, Medienproduktionen oder -kunstwerke verliehen. Sie werden in zwei Kategorien vergeben, die sich nach der Erfahrenheit der Entwickler*innen richten. Indie-Spieleentwickler*innen aus ganz Europa haben die Chance, ihre Spiele und spielbaren Medien einzureichen. Hardware-Spiele und Installationen sind herzlich willkommen.

Kreativität kann bedeuten, bestehende Strukturen umzustoßen, neue Perspektiven zu finden oder einfach bisherige Spielideen zu hinterfragen und Originalität zu finden. Wir möchten euch in keiner Weise einschränken und begrüßen alle Formen von Computerspielen – ob es Spiele mit narrativem Fokus sind; ob es Projekte sind, die mit der Spielsteuerung, wie wir sie kennen, spielen; ob ihr Videospiele als Medienkunst macht; oder ob ihr ein Spiel entwickelt habt, das ihr unterhaltsam findet und möchtet, dass auch Andere es spielen. Die Liste kann beliebig ergänzt werden und wir freuen uns auf eure Einreichungen.

Seit 2007 vereint das PLAY – Creative Gaming Festival Medienkunst, Diskurs und Bildung mit digitaler Spielekultur. Der Fokus ist dabei die kreative Anwendung digitaler Spiele – erfinden, bauen, basteln, modifizieren, programmieren, tanzen und diskutieren.

AWARD KATEGORIEN

MOST CREATIVE GAME

Der Most Creative Game Award wird an das kreativste Projekt verliehen, das von erfahrenen Entwickler*innen erstellt wurde, die bereits Spiele entwickelt haben. Betaversionen und fertige Projekte können hier eingereicht werden.

Der Award ist mit 1000 € Preisgeld dotiert. Wenn es die Situation erlaubt, werden die nominierten Teams zum Festival nach Hamburg eingeladen.

MOST INNOVATIVE NEWCOMER

Der Most Innovative Newcomer Award zeichnet die kreativste und einfallsreichste Newcomer-Produktion aus. Zu Nachwuchs-Entwickler*innen zählen Schüler*innen, Studierende sowie Indie-Entwickler*innen, die noch kein eigenes Spiel veröffentlicht haben. In dieser Kategorie können Prototypen, Alpha- und Betaversionen sowie fertige Projekte eingereicht werden.

Die Gewinner*innen erhalten eine einjährige Patenschaft, die dabei unterstützen soll, in der Spieleindustrie Fuß zu fassen. Das Team wird ebenfalls zum Festival nach Hamburg eingeladen, sofern die Situation es zulässt.

TEILNAHME

VORAUSSETZUNGEN
Vollständig ausgefülltes Formular auf unserer Webseite
(Das Projekt wird als Link im Formular eingereicht).
Anleitungen bitte einfügen.
Ein kurzes Video, in welchem das Gameplay zu sehen ist (mind. 5 Minuten) sowie Screenshots.

TECHNISCHE ANFORDERUNGEN
- Windows 7 und höher, Mac OS X 14 und höher, Playstation 4, Xbox One, iOS / Android -
Installationen und Hardware-Spiele sind herzlich willkommen.
Bitte sende uns ein Video und eine kurze Beschreibung. Kontaktiere uns gerne unter award[at]playfestival.de, wenn du weitere Betriebssysteme benötigst.


Einreichen und Teilnehmen ist kostenlos.
01. – 31. Juli

EINREICHEN

WIE GEHT'S WEITER?

Nach Ende der Einreichungsfrist (31. Juli 2020) wird das Team vom PLAY – Creative Gaming Festival alle Einreichungen spielen und beurteilen. Mitte September 2020 werden wir die Nominierten kontaktieren und auf unserer Internetseite sowie unseren Social-Media-Kanälen bekanntgegeben.

Weitere Informationen zum Festival sind zu finden unter:

VERLEIHUNG

Zwei Mitglieder aus dem nominierten Entwickler*innenteam werden zum PLAY – Creative Gaming Festival (5.-8. November 2020) eingeladen. Die Einladung beinhaltet das Festivalticket sowie Fahrtkosten für die Dauer des Festivals - vorausgesetzt das Festival findet in physischer Form statt! Darüber hinaus werden die nominierten Spiele und Medien in der offiziellen PLAY20 Ausstellung präsentiert.

Die Awards werden verliehen am:
7. November 2020 beim PLAY – Creative Gaming Festival (entweder online oder offline).

AUF EINEN BLICK

Beginn der Einreichungen: 1. Juli 2020

Einsendefrist: 31. Juli 2020

Verleihung: 7. November 2020

Kontakt: award[at]playfestival.de

BISHERIGE GEWINNER*INNEN

MOST CREATIVE GAME


MOST INNOVATIVE NEWCOMER

PLAY20 – Creative Gaming Festival ist eine Veranstaltung der Initiative Creative Gaming e. V. und des jaf – Verein für medienpädagogische Praxis Hamburg e. V. in Kooperation mit spielbar.de, der Plattform der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung/bpb zum Thema Computerspiele, Behörde für Schule und Berufsbildung Hamburg und dem JIZ – Jugendinformationszentrum Hamburg (BSB).

Unterstützt von der BürgerStiftung Hamburg und gamecity:Hamburg

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem FUNDUS THEATER