The PLAY - Creative Gaming Festival invites you from November 4–8, 2020 to discover, measure and cross the boundaries of digital games under the motto "Exploring Borders". Where does a game end, where does the real world begin? We go in search of invisible dividing lines, obstacles and limitations that we encounter in games and ask: Which boundaries are unavoidable for digital games, which ones should finally be abolished? This is what PLAY20 wants to find out together!

This year’s PLAY - Creative Gaming Festival takes place in a completely new form. As always, PLAY20 will focus on participating, trying out, discussing, programming, discovering and of course playing.

You will find out more about this year's programme in the coming weeks. Stay tuned!

CREATIVE GAMING AWARDS

The Creative Gaming Awards are granted annually during the PLAY – Creative Gaming Festival. Honoring video games, playful media, and media art, the Creative Gaming Awards are made up of two categories - The Most Creative Game Award and the Most Inovative Newcomer Award. Indie game developers from all over Europe can submit their projects. Hardware games and media art are also strongly welcome!

Rückblick

PLAY is the first an only festival worldwide to unite media art, discourse and education with the culture of digital games. It focuses on the creative utilization of digital games: invent, build, tinker, modify, program, dance, discuss - anything goes!

PLAY is the festival for game enthusiasts and gamers, indie game developers and media artists, pupils and students, teachers and educators, scientists, people involved in the games industry and everyone, who wishes to play and learn with digital games.

PLAY - Creative Gaming Festival is around since twelve years. Have a look at the last five festivals:

PLAY20 – Creative Gaming Festival is an event produced by the Initiative Creative Gaming e. V. and jaf – Verein für medienpädagogische Praxis Hamburg e. V. in cooperation with spielbar.de, the platform of the Federal Agency for Civic Education/bpb on the Subject of Computer Games, Behörde für Schule und Berufsbildung Hamburg and JIZ – Jugendinformationszentrum Hamburg (BSB).

Supported by the BürgerStiftung Hamburg and gamecity:Hamburg

In cooperation with the FUNDUS THEATER

Das PLAY - Creative Gaming Festival lädt vom 4.-8. November 2020 dazu ein, unter dem Motto "Exploring Borders" die Grenzen digitaler Spiele zu entdecken, zu vermessen und zu überschreiten. Wo endet ein Spiel, wo beginnt die reale Welt? Wir gehen auf die Suche nach unsichtbaren Trennlinien, Hindernissen und Begrenzungen, die uns in Games begegnen, und fragen: Welche Grenzziehungen sind für digitale Spiele unvermeidbar, welche gehören endlich abgeschafft? Dies gilt es bei PLAY20 gemeinsam herauszufinden!

In diesem Jahr findet das PLAY - Creative Gaming Festival in einer komplett neuen Form statt. Wie eh und je werden auch bei PLAY20 das Mitmachen, Ausprobieren, Diskutieren, Programmieren, Entdecken und natürlich das Spielen im Mittelpunkt stehen.

Mehr zum diesjährigen Programm erfahrt ihr in den kommenden Wochen. Stay tuned!

CREATIVE GAMING AWARDS

Die Creative Gaming Awards werden jährlich im Rahmen des PLAY – Creative Gaming Festivals an die besten kreativen Medienproduktionen, –prototypen und Spiele verliehen. Die Awards werden in zwei Kategorien vergeben – während der Most Creative Game Award das kreativste Projekt auszeichnet, ehrt der Most Innovative Newcomer Award die beste Nachwuchsproduktion. Indie-Spieleentwickler*innen aus ganz Europa haben die Chance, ihre Spiele und spielbaren Medien einzureichen. Hardware-Spiele und Installationen sind herzlich willkommen.

Rückblick

PLAY ist das weltweit erste und einzige Festival, das die Bereiche Medienkunst, Diskurs und Bildung mit der Kultur digitaler Spiele vereint. Im Zentrum steht die kreative Anwendung von digitalen Spielen – Erfinden, Bauen, Basteln, Modifizieren, Programmieren, Tanzen, Diskutieren – alles ist erlaubt!

PLAY ist das Festival für Spieleliebhaber*innen und Gamer*innen, Indiegameentwickler*innen und Medienkünstler*innen, Schüler*innen und Studierende, Lehrende und Pädagog*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Menschen aus der Games-Branche sowie alle, die mit digitalen Spielen spielen und lernen wollen.

PLAY - Creative Gaming Festival gibt es bereits seit zwölf Jahren. Hier die Links zu den letzten 5 Festival-Jahren:

PLAY20 – Creative Gaming Festival ist eine Veranstaltung der Initiative Creative Gaming e. V. und des jaf – Verein für medienpädagogische Praxis Hamburg e. V. in Kooperation mit spielbar.de, der Plattform der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung/bpb zum Thema Computerspiele, Behörde für Schule und Berufsbildung Hamburg und dem JIZ – Jugendinformationszentrum Hamburg (BSB).

Unterstützt von der BürgerStiftung Hamburg und gamecity:Hamburg

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem FUNDUS THEATER